Midweek snack: Marinated Zucchini

This last week, I found (unsurprisingly perhaps) a giant zucchini and summer squash at the farmer’s market. They were so pretty and looked so good that I got one of each. Honestly, I wish I had bought more! But, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with them … I debated stuff squash (inspired by something my dad made last week) and then zucchini and squash pasta–but wasn’t feeling that either. And, then as I googled zucchini-related options, I came across this gem: Garlic-Marinated Zucchini. I was immediately inspired as it contained so many of favorite things including lots of garlic and salt (and the husband claims to be getting sick, so the more garlic the better, right?!).

I made a couple changes to the recipe due to the limits of my kitchen: apple cider vinegar for red wine and fun Italian herbs for oregano, garlic powder, salt, and pepper. And, of course I added half a summer squash.

Other than that, I followed the recipe step by step (including the super fun rub salt on your veggies and let them hang out for 30 minutes). As I let the zucchini and squash sit, I made cauliflower rice, sautéed green beans in garlic, and roasted some chickpeas. Then, dinner consisted of piling everything on top of the rice and it was delicious and light and good for a summer meal! The zucchinis and squash were so amazing and refreshing and worked well with the other vegetables, especially due to the vinegar I think. Plus, there are leftovers for tomorrow, which I cannot wait to eat. I contend the zucchini and squash will make a fantastic midweek snack.

Leave a comment