Morning Baking: Zucchinni-Banana Bread

IMG_2593I’ve been baking a lot of banana bread (like at least once a week) this Fall. In part, the bread is a perfect snack for me during a long day of teaching and less messy than some of the other options I tried out earlier this term: sunflower butter with apple slices, which is delicious but awkward to eat in front of a room of students. And so, bolstered by recent banana bread successes and growing comfort with baking, I thought I would give zucchini bread a shot.

This morning I poked around the internet for a recipe that would be low fat, tasty, and allergen free. I had trouble finding a recipe that didn’t have nuts and/or wherein I had all the ingredients in my house already. Thus, what I decided upon was to just replace a banana from my normal banana bread recipe with a shaved/grated zucchini. So, here’s the recipe, which I’m super excited about. It is much more moist and I think actually tastier than my regular banana bread recipe (in part perhaps because I upped the amount of apple sauce).

The Recipe:

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl and pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Make sure to mash the banana up (I used a whisk). Then, pour the batter into a small baking pan and leave it in the oven for 30-45 minutes (mine took about 35-40 minutes).

  • 1 cup garbanzo bean flour (or any other GF flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 2/3-1 large zuchinni grated
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

What to watch while cooking: I am still re-watching Murdoch Mysteries (I’m now on Season 1) but I took a break to do a 30 minute yoga class, which timed perfectly with baking times and the bread was ready for me to eat it for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

