Comfort Food & Spicing Up Potatoes

Sometimes a bad day requires comfort cooking or rather the comfort of cooking. Today was mostly that kind of day and I needed to use the remnants of food that we brought back from the beach, including a bag of small potatoes (before I could do real grocery shopping). I eat a lot (like a lot!) of potatoes and was feeling a little bored of frying and roasting and my normal set of flavors (normally garlic and onion and pepper). Thus, in a quest to find something a little new but still simple, I happened upon this recipe: Oven Roasted Baby Red Potatoes that much to my delight included parsley, an often forgotten (on my part) and quite loved herb.

I followed all the steps in the original recipe but switched out chopped garlic for pressed (we do not own a garlic press because I do not like cleaning them) and opted for fresh parsley and also we didn’t have red potatoes, so I used just small brown ones.

The result was potatoes that were just (just) a little different and fresher and generally delicious, which was just what I needed on this strangely rainy summer day (although this is the South and it rains a lot in the summer here!). Sometimes  I just need to feel creative in the kitchen or make something tangible as my job mostly involves (especially when I’m not teaching) writing on the computer, producing things certainly but not things that I can touch or taste. I think, sometimes, this is why cooking is such a good outlet for me! That and then I get to eat the product, which is a major benefit.

potatoesThe Recipe:

  • Use one bag of small potatoes (of any variety)
  • A handful of fresh chopped parsley and at least 1 clove of chopped garlic

Chop your potatoes into twos or threes and put them in water to boil for 7-8 minutes. While they are boiling, chop your garlic and parsley and drop them into your big bowl. Once the potatoes are done, throw them in the mix with some olive oil, salt, and pepper to taste (I tasted quite a few because they were delicious). Lastly, throw them in the oven on a baking sheet for about 25 minutes at 425 degrees (or until they browned on at least one side).

I served them with sautéed kale with zucchini and garlic (in the lemon/garlic salt I made for my wedding) and then made hummus for protein and piled everything together in a bowl.

PS Just in case you (like me) need a movie to accompany you whilst cooking: check out the ever-wonderful Kinky Boots (available on Netflix) about a shoe factory in northern England.

Leave a Reply

