For the Love of Cauliflower

Summer in Georgia is HOT. Like, really hot. And, humid. As a result, cooking anything seems to make me just feel hotter. I love roasting things from chickpeas to potatoes and beyond but that just feels far too heat-producing these days. At the same time, I’ve been experiencing salad-boredom, a condition I routinely feel in the summer. Thus, I’ve been trying to brave the heat and hit the stove. Recently too, I’ve spend a lot of time experimenting with cauliflower, a vegetable that until recently I believed was my food nemesis.

When I was kid, I would refuse cauliflower at all costs, including foregoing desert. Then, I literally didn’t eat cauliflower until this last year. That is almost 20 years without even once considering cauliflower as an option. So, getting over my feelings was no small feat. The promise of rice, which I can’t eat the normal kind, was enough to begin my newfound love affair with the vegetable. Plus! Cauliflower is so good for you, which I hadn’t realized. Thus, once I got past the smIMG_2155ell (which is pretty weird), a whole new world of rice and tortillas and pizza crusts opened up to me.

So, tonight I was trying to figure out something to go with delicious steak we got yesterday (from the amazing Spotted Trotter) for a Sunday night dinner and had a cauliflower desperately in need of use in the fridge. In search of something that would combine the two, I found a recipe for Cauliflower Fritters with Avocado Lime Sauce, which looked easy (both the pizza dough and tortillas can be a bit time consuming and labor intensive for just an average day), delicious, and refreshing.

The recipe turned out to be amazing! I just made a couple alterations, switching out coconut flour for garbanzo bean flour (I use Bob’s Redmill), which I like more just broadly as a flour substitute. Then, I also added cilantro to the avocado lime sauce, which gave it a little more kick.

The final step was to make a spinach salad with apple cider vinegar and olive oil dressing (s&p to taste!). Then, I served up the fritters and avocado sauce with steak and a the salad on the side and garnished with cilantro. It turned out to be the perfect summer meal in two ways. The first was that it was not too heavy but still substantial and refreshing and the second was that it didn’t make me too hot while cooking (a major summertime plus).

IMG_2159One recommendation I will make: only cook cauliflower, when you can open the windows and doors, because (again) the weird smell. Hence, why the lone cauliflower had sat in my fridge all week (i.e. it had been way to hot to open any windows.) Luckily tonight was cool enough that between fans and open windows and doors, we could air out the house a bit, which made all the difference and resulted in delicious fritters, which I’m definitely making again.

The Recipe:

Cauliflower Fritters:

Rice the cauliflower and then cook for a couple minutes in a frying pan (with olive oil) with the lid on. Then, take the lid off and cook the rice for a couple more minutes. Then, remove the rice from the pan, put it in a bowl, and place it in the fridge. Once the rice has cooled off, add all the ingredients and mix them together. It should make an almost paste-like substance. Then, scoop a dollop (I just used a tablespoon) into the pan and let it cook until the first side browns, flip over and do it again. Make as many as the batter takes. Remove from pan and eat!

    • 1 head medium cauliflower
    • 1 Tbs. olive oil
    • 2 eggs
    • 5 tsp. garbanzo bean flour
    • Sea salt to taste
    • Olive oil for cooking
Lime Avocado Sauce
Blend everything together in a Cuisinart (or something of that ilk) and refrigerate for a bit before serving.
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 fresh lime (juiced)
  • Pinch of fresh cilantro
  • Salt and peper, to taste
Leave a Reply

