Fried Chicken (Gluten, Dairy, and Nut free!)

My dissertation is on the South and so I spend a lot of time watching TV shows full of Southern cooking. And, given all my food allergies and such, Southern cooking usually seems off the menu for me. But today I made fried chicken for the first time! I started with a recipe from Go Dairy Free and then made it my own. Plus I served it with sauteed kale, and roasted potatoes. So good!

Here’s what I did:

1 bowl of garbanzo bean flour (I added salt and garlic powder to it)

1 bowl eggs with a dash of sunflower oil (2 egg whites and 1 egg)

2 chicken breasts chopped into pieces

First, coat the the chicken in flour, then dip in the eggs and oil, then back in the flour. Make sure the chicken is completely coated.

Then throw the chicken pieces in a pan filled with sunflower oil (and I added a bit of olive oil). I cooked the first side for 5 minutes and then the second side for about 2 minutes.

chicken in the pan, side 1
chicken breaded and in the pan, side 2

Meanwhile, the potatoes are roasting in the oven (they went in before I started prepping the chicken). Once the chicken is done put it on a paper towel to let some of the oil soak off.

on the towel …

And then throw the kale in the pan near the end with some olive oil and salt. Let it wilt (and I like mine a little burnt kale chips style).

kale in the pan

Done! It was so fun to eat fried chicken (it had been so long!) and it was lighter than I remembered I think thanks to the garbanzo bean flour and the egg whites. Anyway, so good!

2 thoughts on “Fried Chicken (Gluten, Dairy, and Nut free!)

Leave a Reply

