Gluten Free Banana Bread

Today was a cooking kind of day. In the morning I made a version of my Chicken Chili with beef and then this afternoon I felt compelled to make use of the sad old banana in our fridge. And so while I am not a very good baker, I thought I would take a stab at Gluten Free Banana Bread.

I mostly followed the Gluten Free Banana Bread recipe from Taste of Home but got rid of the walnuts and subbed vanilla bean for Vanilla extract.

  • 1 cup garbanzo bean flour (or any other GF flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg and 2 egg whites
  • mashed ripe bananas 
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup sunflower oil

I mixed all the dry ingredients together in one bowl and then blended all the eggs, bananas, applesauce, and vanilla in another bowl. Then I mixed them all together! Grease up a small pan of your choice with sunflower or canola oil and bake on 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes (makes one loaf).

And done! And sooo good! I will definitely be making this again.

banana bread before baking
all done! and ready to eat.
Leave a Reply

