Pesto: Gluten, Vegan, and Nut free!

This week I’ve been experimenting with pestos after being super inspired by a good friend of mine, who blogs over here. I loved pesto as a kid but haven’t been able to eat it for so long. Safe to say, I have missed it. But, I’ve found a way to eat it once again and it is just as delicious (if not a little lighter) than I remembered. So, here’s what I’ve been up to:

Handful of spinach
Handful of basil
Olive oil to taste and to thin it out
Pinch of salt
A couple cloves of garlic or pinch of garlic powder
1 tablespoon of chickpeas

Blend with an immersion blender (this is my new favorite utensil!) until smooth and creamy. Then, put it in the fridge for a couple hours. It is lighter than other pestos I’ve made, with nutritional yeast, but I think I like it better. It is so good! I have been using it (generously) in salad dressings (like a pesto & cherry balsamic dressing) and I put it on some hamburgers over the weekend. And, I imagine it would work well over some gluten free pasta too!

Leave a Reply

