Turkey (or Chicken) Chili in the Crockpot

I have never been a big recipe person–I do a lot of reading in my regular life and tend to get bored with recipes, which is not always the best. But, this last week I decided that I no longer needed to look at a recipe to make chili in my slow cooker. I figured that if I threw lots of delicious things in the slow cooker that it would wind up being delicious and at least this time it worked out. Here’s what I did for what I think I will call 4 Bean Chicken Chili (or you can always sub ground turkey for the chicken):

1 can garbanzo beans
1 can white kidney beans
1 can regular kidney beans (the red ones)
1 can black beans
4-5 chicken breasts and/or thighs
2 jalapeños
2 peppers (of any color variety)
a handful of tomatoes (also of any variety in terms of shape, size, color)
Chili mix (I make my own with red pepper flakes, cumin, garlic powder, smoked paprika, onion powder, and salt) to taste

Slow cook away! I did it for about 6 or 7 hours on low. I didn’t really put the ingredients in any specific way and the second time I made it, I forgot the beans until midway through layering things into the crockpot (oops). But what I found out is it didn’t really matter and it still tasted delicious!

One thought on “Turkey (or Chicken) Chili in the Crockpot

Leave a Reply

