Vegan Whipped Cream (slash Frosting)

It has been quite some time since I posted anything fun and food related, which has been in part due (sadly) to both a lack of time and inspiration in the kitchen. However, yesterday feeling oddly in need of whipped cream (or really this chocolate tofu fudge that I make) I felt compelled to experiment a little. I was aiming for a vanilla tofu fudge like thing, but got home from the grocery store only to realize I did not have any vanilla. Thus, I made a kind of frosting/whipped cream/maybe double as yogurt thing. I know it sounds weird, but it is pretty delicious so here is the recipe:

1 carton soft tofu
about 1/2 soy milk (I used the unsweetened vanilla kind)
sugar, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg to taste
and vanilla if you have it

Put it all in the blender/cuisanart and blend away. It should become sort of silky but still thick enough to put a dollop onto a piece of cake or fruit or something of that nature. For a thicker, more pudding-like concoction, just add less soy milk. And then just refrigerate, which will keep it thicker and more delicious.

Leave a Reply

