Homemade Chili!

Yesterday I used my crockpot for the first time (as I have had it for a year, this marked a momentos occasion) and made homemade beef chili, another first. Also, it is worth noting that the chili could have easily been vegan minus the beef. I more or less followed this recipe: all recipes chili, but made a few (I think key) changes.

For one, I added extra garlic and cooked the beef in garlic powder.
Second, I used half an onion and an entire green better.
Third, I made my own Chili Powder out of cumin, garlic powder, sea salt, and chili flakes
Fourth, instead of the water, I used 2 cans of Kidney beans (one with the liquid still in it), some garbanzo beans that were left over in the fridge, and one can of white kidney beans.
Fifth, I used can tomatoes (1 giant can from Trader Joe’s) with basil.

Everything got dumped into the crockpot (which is a delightful red color), and left on low for 8 hours. Come 6pm, the house smelled delicious and the chili was done! I would take a picture, but despite being delicious, the chili is not particularly photogenic. I learned two things from this chili making experience: one homemade chili is the best! and it gets better every day it sits in the fridge. and two, using crockpots is super easy and now I want to do it all the time. Plus, the warm chili was just in time for today’s rainy weather.

Leave a Reply

