Quinoa Salad

It has been a while since I posted anything food related as the start of term, teaching, trying to write a dissertation, and things along those lines have been keeping me out of the kitchen. But tonight I am having people over and we are doing dinner potluck style. Thus, I was enticed into the kitchen and I made a quinoa salad. It was really simple, but also delicious (and I got the idea from Chelsea H).

Basically, it goes something like this:

Cook quinoa (1 cup quinoa to 2 cups water). Boil and then simmer until done (the quinoa unfolds … it is kind of pretty).
Stir fry garlic with zucchini (which was from our garden!)
Chop tomatoes (also from the garden!)
Chop fresh basil
Add everything together with some sun dried tomatoes (I got mine from Trader Joes)
Once everything is cooled down, add apple cider vinegar, salt, and pepper to taste.

I left mine in the fridge over night so it would sort of soak up the flavors … And I’m planning to serve it with homemade garlic and basil hummus. Yumm.

Leave a Reply

