Not Such a Great Week for Cooking, but Basil Olive Oil Rocks

So this week I am not feeling the cooking bug so much, mostly as I think I am on the sleepy side. Thus, today I made a gigantic pot of quinoa with some stir fried veggies (peppers, onions, and mushrooms. I am so obsessed with mushrooms right now) and it is delicious. And this should last me the rest of the week. Easy.

However, the best part of cooking this week is the basil olive oil my dad and I bought over the weekend. And it is amazing! I have been cooking both with fresh basil and the basil olive oil, and sometimes with a little garlic olive oil. So delicious! Also, we bought the olive oil at a place where we could taste all the different oils before buying, it was both delicious and quite fun. So for this week, I am all about different kinds of olive oil (because I seriously love olive oil), despite not feeling terribly adventurous in the kitchen.

5 thoughts on “Not Such a Great Week for Cooking, but Basil Olive Oil Rocks

  1. Yum, yum! I made garlic olive oil the other day by heating a dozen or so peeled cloves in olive oil and simmering them for 15 minutes or so. Then I tossed it with broccoli and it was fanTAStic.

    1. that sounds so delicious! i think i might just have to try that very soon … did you keep any of it around after? for later use … i also want to make the basil olive oil (we bought this one), which i think would be marvelous with fresh basil! also, i miss you!

      1. I miss you too! I kept the oil in the fridge and slowly used it up on various things to enjoy the added flavor. SO yummy. Apparently those kind of flavored oils, when they are homemade and the flavoring is cooked, last 1-2 weeks in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

